I agree

Standard
As some of you might have known, I don’t really like politics. Not because it’s such a unreachable topic for me.. nor because it’s not that interesting for me.. but because I don’t see anything new in it.. it’s the same old story.. They are fighting for their own interest in the name of public. Yeah, right. Public whose blood are spilled on the way to democracy. It’s like looking at the same crack on the wall no matter how hard you paint the wall to cover..
I was working on my paper and needed some distraction from the stress when I found this out… it’s such a hot topic right now.. a topic I find so interesting as it will define the world’s future. New thing happens on the other side of the world and I just can’t resist it to take a look at it. And I really do fall for it. It’s simple, it’s neutral, it’s visionary, it’s inspiring.

He points out three interesting things I’ve always agreed on:

  • The world doesn’t just revolve around you. There are other people. And now we’re lacking a thing called empathy. The ability to put ourselves in someone else’s shoes; to see the world through those who are different from us. Yes, I agree. The world is shaping us to take care of our own business and don’t mind others’. Yes, it’s true. To some extend. But if taking care of our own business means we live solely our own life, I don’t think it works that way for me. Because there are other people, whose life is not as lucky as I am. And I don’t think I can get away from that. It’s because you have an obligation to yourself. Because our individual salvation depends on collective salvation.
  • Challenge yourself. Take some risks in your life. Yes I agree. And reading a post in a friend’s blog, I couldn’t agree more to this. I’ve heard so many times why people don’t try what they’ve always wanted to try, because they’re fine with what they have right now. It’s not bad at all, after all, when you have more than enough money to buy anything you want, what more can you ask? But won’t it be better to actually realize what you’ve been dreaming of? well, I don’t want to be one of them. or at least, didn’t. Even though to look at my situation at the moment, I’m starting to wonder, whether I’ve became one of them. Whether I’ve stopped challenge myself.
  • Perseverance. Making your mark on the world is hard. If it were easy, everybody would do it. Oh yes, I totally agree to this. I know it’s only been 26 years of living, still a long way to go (of course if God allows), but I guess I know just enough on what it means. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t have come so far.

And yes, those three things are some of the things that help me shaping my platform for life and who I am or what I will be.

Anyway, I was so glad to find the video. At least someone is about to make a change. If I were an American citizen, for sure I would have made sure to be a part of it. Unfortunately (or should I say fortunately?), I am an Indonesian citizen, and I guess it’s still a long way ahead to have someone who can make that change we need. Nor that we’re ready for the change. Well.. yet, I am still proud of being an Indonesian. I’m waiting for that change to happen in my beloved home.

 *read the full-text version of Sen. Barack Obama’s SNHU commencement address here

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dogol Talks About Moving « .:: Goio, Simplified ::.

  2. I guess it’s still a long way ahead to have someone who can make that change we need.

    I believe you are aware that things are not going to change, not if we don’t change it =)… so, let’s change!

    hihi.. sampe beli baju seragam gitu buat anak2 dengan tema “dare to dream”.. ya gak dit? wakakak.. terus dengan pedenya menyangka diri dan yang laen kurus.. jadi belinya yang ngepas, nyampe rumah .. kekecilan donkk.. hihihi… usaha menginspirasi diri untuk terus bermimpi .. tapi gagal tea bajunya wakakakkkk..

Leave a Reply

