If

Standard

Ring ring. Ring ring. Click. 

“Hello”

“Hi, it’s me.”

“Oh, hey. What’s up?”

“Do you have time?”

“Now? Yeah. I have a meeting in 15 mins though. What’s up?”

“Umm.. a friend of mine is here, and she has this project… archiving project .. (whisper) oral history archiving project .. yeah, oral history project. She wants to interview us for a second. She said it’s gonna be a quick one. Perhaps about 5-10 mins. Can you do it now?”

“Now? Ummm… 10 mins max, yeah?”

“Yap.”

“Okay.”

“Really?”

“Yeah, 9 mins now.”

“Yes! (whisper) yes, he said yes!. Okay so I’m gonna ask you one question and you get to ask me one too. I’m putting you on a loudspeaker okay? This will be recorded so don’t say things you don’t mean.”

“O… kay… sounds like a trap though. (nervous laugh) Ok go for it.”

“My question is… If this were to be our last conversation, if you were not gonna see me ever again after this call, what would you say to me?

“Oh… wow… (Exhales. long pause) Umm.. (clearing throat). Well.. I would say.. (long pause)….”

“Are you still there?”

“Yeah. I was just thinking. (Pause) Well, I would say… “

******

And then I woke up.

What would you say to me? What would I say to you?

Leave a Reply

